The Indian team beat New Zealand 2-0 in the bronze playoff to clinch a historic medal. Malaysia led the esports medal tally with three golds.

India won the bronze medal in the Dota 2 open category at the inaugural Commonwealth esports championships 2022 in Birmingham, UK.

The Indian esports team – captain Moin Ejaz, Ketan Goyal, Abhishek Yadav, Shubhnam Goli and Vishal Vernekar – beat New Zealand 2-0 in a best-of-three games in the bronze medal playoff at the International Convention Centre.

“This win symbolises the amount of hard work the team has put in over the years and we dedicate this win to our country. Winning a medal at the Commonwealth was a dream for us and we’re super proud as a team,” captain Moin Ejaz said.

“We hope that this win will encourage more tournaments around Dota 2 and other esports titles, which will help the ecosystem as a whole to grow in our country.”

India had beaten Wales and lost to England in the group stages to make their way to the semi-finals, where they were beaten by eventual champions Malaysia.

The Commonwealth esports championships were held alongside the Commonwealth Games 2022 as a demonstration event. It was not an official CWG medal event. Three titles – Rocket League, eFootball and Dota 2 – each with a women’s and open category were played.

Another Indian team competed in the Rocket League open category, where they were knocked out in the group stages.

Malaysia emerged as the most successful team, winning three golds, followed by England, Wales and Northern Ireland, who won one gold medal each.

Commonwealth Esports Championships 2022: Medal winners by title

Title Gold Silver Bronze
Rocket League Open Wales England Australia
Rocket League Women England Scotland Australia
eFootball Open Malaysia Scotland Wales
eFootball Women Northern Ireland Wales England
Dota 2 Open Malaysia England India
Dota 2 Women Malaysia England Singapore

Commonwealth Esports Championships 2022: Medal tally

Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
Malaysia 3 0 0 3
England 1 3 1 5
Wales 1 1 1 3
Northern Ireland 1 0 0 1
Scotland 0 2 0 2
Australia 0 0 2 2
India 0 0 1 1
Singapore 0 0 1 1