Former Singapore international Nazri Nasir has been appointed the coach of the Singapore national team that will play in the Airmarine Cup 2019 to be hosted by Malaysia on March 20 and 23. 

The four-nation tournament will see Singapore along with hosts Malaysia, Oman and Afghanistan. The Singapore Lions will face the Harimau Malaya in their opening match on March 20 at the Bukit Jalil National Stadium in Kuala Lumpur.

Former defensive midfielder Nazri represented Singapore between 1990 and 2004 and captained the country in an illustrious career following which he moved to coaching. He has been serving as an assistant coach to Fandi Ahmad since 2013.

Courtesy of FASingapore

Nazri had previously coached a Singapore Selection team in The Sultan’s Gold Cup 2018 organised by the Football Association of Malaysia last year.

Another former star Noh Rahman will be Nazri’s assistant for the tournament. The Singapore senior team is without the service U-22 players for the Airmarine Cup but includes Tampines Rovers defenders Irwan Shah, who was last capped in 2013, and Amirul Adli who last featured in the squad in 2015.

Singapore head coach Fandi Ahmad is with the Singapore U-22 who will take part in the 2020 AFC U-23 Championship qualifiers starting March 22 and is preparing for the tournament with a camp in Japan.

Singapore’s 22-member squad for Airmarine Cup 2019

Goalkeepers: Izwan Mahbud ( Nongbua Pitchaya), Syazwan Buhari (Tampines Rovers), Zaiful Nizam (Balestier Khalsa)

Defenders: Amirul Adli (Tampines Rovers), Emmeric Ong (Warriors FC), Faritz Hameed (Home United), Irwan Shah (Tampines Rovers),  Nazrul Nazari (Hougang United), Safuwan Baharudin (Pahang FA), Shakir Hamzah (Kedah FA)

Midfielders: Hariss Harun (Johor Darul Ta’zim), Huzaifah Aziz (Balestier Khalsa), Izzdin Shafiq (Home United), M Anumanthan (Hougang United), Shahdan Sulaiman (Tampines Rovers), Yasir Hanapi (Tampines Rovers), Zulfahmi Arifin (Hougang United)

Forwards: Faris Ramli (Hougang United), Gabriel Quak FW (Warriors FC), Iqbal Hussain (Hougang United), Khairul Amri (Tampines Rovers), Khairul Nizam (Warriors FC)

Source from: Fox Sports Asia